Affiliate Partners With Microsoft to Offer Free Hosting
Ok, so first off, who believed the title? Anyone?
Moments ago I received an issue of the Associate Programs Newsletter claiming to offer some very nice gifts for the holiday season. To be more specific…
“How would you like a no-catches gift of a domain name, lifetime web hosting and more?”
and…
“Jeremy Palmer, the million-dollar affiliate and author of High Performance Affiliate Marketing, and I have arranged a special gift for readers of this newsletter.”
“Here’s what you get - all for nothing, no catches: …”
He goes on to mention a free hosting account and domain name from Microsoft Office Live, a complimentary copy of High Performance Affiliate Marketing, and access to an exclusive webinar. And as usual, the offer is only valid for the next 24 hours. [But let me emphasize that part about “no catches”]
Well, of course I would love to get all of that for free! But what’s the catch?
First of all, why is Microsoft partnering with some internet marketers? I understand that the free webinar and ebook are just ways to collect email addresses so that these guys can push their next product launch, but what does Microsoft have to do with this? I mean, the title of their page (http://www.quityourdayjob.com/officelive/) is “Microsoft Office Live Exclusive Offer.” And to sign-up, you go through a special link - http://www.quityourdayjob.com/officelive/signup.php.
So far we’re looking at free lifetime web hosting and other goodies with no catches. No harm in signing up, right? We’ll just give them an old email address and fake name and see what we get…
And indeed, you do get a free hosting account and domain name from Microsoft Office Live. It’s the same one you get from http://officelive.microsoft.com/OfficeLiveBasic.aspx. (Whether you do a Google search for “free office live hosting” or go through the sneaky quityourdayjob.com redirect, you’ll end up at that page.)
But here’s the real catch - after you fill out a bunch of information, Microsoft asks for your credit card information. But wait, I thought it was free?
Have no fear, this is only a precaution Microsoft is taking to ward off spammers and scammers looking to build phishing websites. Or is it? If you read the fine print, they need your billing information so that when Office Live’s beta period is over, they can start charging you!
Taking a step back, we can see how this all went down:
- Microsoft wants some subscribers to Office Live, so they offer a free trial to get people to sign-up. Nothing unusual.
- Some internet marketing gurus piggyback on Microsoft’s offer and pass it off as their own “exclusive” offer only for their subscribers, only for 24 hours.
- The gurus realize that if they say “no catch” that people will belive them and, in turn, signup for their mailing list.
- The gurus then send subscribers over to a page on Microsoft’s site that can easily be found by anyone else.
- And in the future we have step 5, consisting of the gurus promoting more get-rich-quick offers to the people they conned into subscribing.
Isn’t it interesting how far the gurus will go these days?
Wonder if Microsoft would go as far as shutting these people down, considering they are profiting off of Microsoft’s name? I doubt MS would hesitate to send off a Cease & Desist order, especially if people believe that MS is indeed associated with the gurus.


Posted December 29, 2006
Comments(0)



